HOW TO: Gradient Eyeshadow Look

Hello lovely readers!

This is the tutorial for my eyeshadow of the day look I posted earlier this week, hope it helps! 🙂

I love doing sultry looks like this when I have a nice dinner or something fancy to go to. It will make you look like a movie star! 😉

(you can click on any of the pictures to see them larger if you need to)

I like to do my eyeshadow before I apply my foundation so I can clean up any fallout and not worry about messing up my makeup.

These are the things I used to achieve the look, but of course you can use similar colors you have or whatever colors you’d like.

Products Used

-Kourtney’s Kardazzle palette, the 2nd & 4th eyeshadow on the bottom row of metallics

-Dark brown matte eyeshadow

-Black cream & pencil eyeliner

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eyeshadows

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First I like to apply eyeshadow primer so the colors will be very pigmented and last all day. Then take the second shade (or your lightest shade) and apply it to your eyelid starting from the inner corner but don’t apply it all over your lid, leave a little space on the outer corner. The reason why I didn’t apply the color to the outer corner is because I want the brown to be really dark in that area, and the lighter color will take away from the pigmentation.

1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next take the 4th shade (or your darker shade) and apply it to the outer corner where you didn’t apply the first eyeshadow. I used a crease brush to apply this color so I could be more precise and apply it exactly where I want it. Then start dabbing it over the lighter color  only up to the middle of your lid. This will help give it a gradient effect. Try not to apply too much as you get closer to the middle, you want to keep it the darkest on the outer corner. If you apply too much dark brown towards the middle you can always go back with your lighter color and blend it. Also lightly apply some brown to the outer part of the crease.

2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Take your matte brown shadow and dab it with your brush just in the outer corner and extend it out a little bit, if you want it to be darker you can take a black eyeshadow and dab it on the outer corner as well. (I like to take a big fluffy eyeshadow brush and sweep it back and forth on the crease to help blend away harsh lines)

3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Take your pencil eyeliner and tightline your upper lash line and also line your lower lash line. Take your cream liner (or liquid) and line your upper lid, you can do a cat eye if you’d like.

5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After looking at it I felt like it wasn’t dark enough in the corner or blended enough so I went back and added a little bit of black to the outer corner, blended the crease with my fluffy eyeshadow brush, and went back and touched up my eyeliner

6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Apply your favorite mascara and fill in your brows (if you’d like)

Heres the completed look with mascara, my foundation done, and eyebrows filled in. Yes, it makes a difference!! 🙂

Completed Look

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hope this tutorial was helpful and if you still have any questions please feel free to ask! 🙂

*Like On Facebook
*Follow On Tumblr
*Follow On Instagram: @cosmeticsobsession
2 Comments

Filed under Daily Blogs, How To

2 responses to “HOW TO: Gradient Eyeshadow Look

Leave a Reply

